Dog Day Afternoon

This was to be my blog post yesterday, but out of respect for those who needlessly lost their lives due to the terrorist attack in Orlando, Florida, it was postponed. When a country has a criminal thug in the White House, these things are to be expected.

Yesterday was a wonderful day at Church. First we rejoiced in the fellowship of Sunday School [or as I refer to it, Therapy], then the church service of edifying proportions, and then our monthly F.A.I.T.H. Riders meeting accompanied by a breaking of bread. These sure are a fine bunch of folks. They have unequivocally welcomed us into their hearts, thoughts and homes like we where long lost friends. Their Christ-like love just makes me want to be a better person, you know? I’m so grateful the LORD led us to them. I just pray I can live up to their view of me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Biker Dude And Dudette

What’s with the statues? Since Hubby and I are “new” in this church, one of the very dear lady’s, Margie, gifted these as a welcome to the church. Bless her heart, she was so worried it would offend us. NO WAY! I’m tickled pink that she likes us so much. What a sweetie.

Shhh, don’t tell, but in return for this kindness, Hubby plans to make her one of his famous Red Ceder Blue Bird birdhouses. He’s made so many birdhouses, I think he is going to single handedly repopulate these lovely birds all over Southeast Georgia.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Jack passed out on the sofa.

It was unbelievably hot and humid this weekend with more predicted. We’ve drifted into true Dog Days. It’s so unmercifully hot, I’ve had to keep The Boy’s numerous water dishes filled [there are several around the property] with fresh water. The one inside, I put a glassful of ice in it just for good measure. Even though we have central air conditioning I worry that they’re still not cool enough.

Well, I hope everyone can stay out of the weather until it moderates. And stay safe out there, ‘k? Always be mindful of what’s around you. These are perilous times.

Ride Safe Sparky Redbird PNG

12 thoughts on “Dog Day Afternoon

  1. I loveeeee Due and Dudette, those fit you to a “t”. Oh sweet friend…I am in total agreeance over your post concerning yesterdays terror attack. I hope y’all can stay cool. It is a cool 47* here in western NY. (ducking so you don’t hit me, lol)

    Have a beautiful day, blowing kisses to Jack and his brother.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I shudder to think what I would actually look like in one of those outfits! rolling fits of laughter Thank you for your always welcome comments. Luv ~:)

      Like

  2. First, let me say how thankful and happy I am that you found a church and group of fellow believers to be happy with! It is the same for me at our church, so I totally understand. Secondly, the terrorist attack was horrible and our President has no clue. Third, it was 80 when I woke up and we have been in the high 90’s for a week and no rain in sight. Those doggies are lucky to have someone who cares enough to keep fresh water for them. Have a great Monday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, you’re back! The sick computer must be well again? Yay! 🙂
      I never knew that going to church could be so edifying to my Christian walk. Did I change or did I just find The Right Place? Maybe both. I do know my spiritual growth has improved since meeting up with these folks for which I am forevermore grateful. They’re not perfect, neither am I, but together we strive to live according to God’s Word. That’s good enough. Have a blessed day my friend. ~:)

      Like

  3. This all sounds so good! (except the HEAT!…I suppose riding the bikes cools you off?)
    I ADORE my church of the last almost 5 years and can barely wait for Sunday morning’s Christian book study, the worship service, and those amazing people!
    We merged with a church of really young people 3 months ago and talk about inspiring! Their faith is amazing in spite of what our country tells them…and they’re actresses, models, business men, etc…..people who COULD fall for the immorality of our culture..so it’s doubly inspiring.
    Anyway…I LOVE the statues and love that you’re loved that much!
    you’re loved here, that’s for sure!
    Blessings, Z

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a lot of youth in our church too. I hang with the Oldies, though. giggle Happy to hear that some of the arty crowd are not falling for the Hollywood lies. I pray they can remain on the straight and narrow.
      Riding is cooler except when the air is already over 90 degrees and the sun is beating down. Then it’s a furnace and very uncomfortable. Ugh. I stay in the ‘cage’ (truck) when it gets like that.
      Thanks Z, and always enjoy your comments. Have a blessed day dear Sister in Christ. ~:)

      Like

      1. Coincidentally, am having the older Pastor (a dear friend) and 3 of the ‘youngsters’ from the church to dinner tonight!
        You have a blessed day, too…I’m having a REALLY busy one, particularly because my Sis decided to stop by with Mom (taking her home from a weekend at her house) to swoop me out for Mexican food!
        I’ll be crankin’ by the time they drop me off…Cookin’ to do 🙂
        xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. So happy that you two enjoy your new church home and Christian brothers and sisters. The statues were a very sweet and thoughtful way of welcoming you both! Oh, Jack…..it is hot here too. Just going to the mailbox is miserable! Take care and have a lovely evening. Mildred

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These people are the salt of the earth, just like all my blogging buddies. 🙂 I’m hiding inside. Speaking of the mailbox, I had a nice little gift there today. THANK YOU! I’ll blog about it later this week ’cause we’re going out of town tomorrow and there’s no time to do it proper. I want to show it to everyone. You’re a sweetie. I’ll be chatting later! Luv ~:)

      Like

Comments are closed.