Who Shall Separate Us?

Who Shall Separate Us?

by Pastor Cornelius R. Stam
Printer Friendly Version

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?” (Rom. 8:35).

True Christians have been saved from the penalty of sin for one reason alone: because of “the love of God, which is [manifested] in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

St. John wrote by divine inspiration:

“Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us, and sent His Son to be the propitiation [satisfaction] for our sin.

“We love Him because He first loved us” (I John 4:10,19).

Let us understand this clearly and remember it always. It is not our love to Him, but His love to us, that saves us — and it is His love to us that keeps us saved. This is where we must begin the Christian life.

A wayward husband returned to his grieving wife one day, after many months of living in sin. Sobbing his heart out in remorse and shame, he told her how often he had longed to be home again with the wife he knew to be so true to him. Asked why, then, he had not returned sooner, he explained that he was ashamed; to which his wife replied: “John, I want you to know something and never forget it: I love you.” John sobbed in response: “Who wouldn’t want to live for a woman like this!”

Just so it is the knowledge that Christ loves us no matter what; that nothing shall ever separate us from His love; it is this that makes the sincere believer determine, by God’s grace, to be always true to Him.

Thus the Scripture doctrine of the believer’s eternal security in Christ by no means leads to careless living. On the contrary, it affords the greatest possible motivation to “live soberly, righteously and godly in this present world” (Tit. 2:11,12).


Share Article:

To the Reader:
Some of our Two Minutes articles were written many years ago. Rather than rewrite or date such articles, we have left them just as they were when first published. This, we felt, would add to the interest, especially since our readers understand that many of them first appeared as newspaper articles. We hope that you’ll agree that while some of the references in these articles are dated, the spiritual truths taught therein are timeless.

8 thoughts on “Who Shall Separate Us?

  1. What a beautiful post…Sparky and Steve…have a beautiful day, friend…did you see there are going to be about 10,000 bikers/veterans going to the convention to help the police?

    When I first saw the title, I was thinking politics and what’s going on in the world….(it seems to be on my brain) and how the divide is coming from within…just so sad…but your right, Thus the Scripture doctrine of the believer’s eternal security in Christ by no means leads to careless living. On the contrary, it affords the greatest possible motivation to “live soberly, righteously and godly in this present world” (Tit. 2:11,12).

    NO matter how bad it gets, Christians need to unite, period. I see the Methodist church is going thru some power struggles against doctrine with electing the first openly woman gay bishop…shaking my head…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What can I say to your comment but “Amen”! And thank you. We need to stand united and soberly that the good news about Jesus Christ is spread amoungst the nations. HE never separates from us, we separate from Him. If we could get more people to believe, the world would be a better place. And just remember, our goal is to get to Heaven and to TAKE AS MANY WITH US AS WE CAN!
      Luv ~:)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean. Our services where different today (not edifying) so this lesson was definitely better for spiritual growth. Thank you! Your comment brightened my day. Hope you have a blessed, safe day. ~:)

      Like

  2. Gad! I found where to leave a comment only accidentally..what’s up? 🙂 I hope I can find it again!

    Hi, Sparky! First, anyone with ORANGE on their bike is a FRIEND OF THIS ORANGE-LOVIN’ GAL 🙂 I love the theme of the post…it’s not about US, it is ALL about HIM, even our search for HIM is HIS. HE LOVED US FIRST….that’s why works don’t matter to our eternal lives! It’s HIS LOVE that draws us, sanctifies us all our lives………such a lovely relief.
    Talk about a husband/wife love like in your article, I found an RSVP from our wedding almost 26 years ago yesterday when going thru old things (my husband died 19 yrs and 4 days after, earlier than scheduled from an illness) but I found his RSVP card to our wedding…I must have sent him an invite! I think you’ll love this; I looked at it and he’d checked “regrets” and wrote “Busy, I have dinner with my lovely fiancee that night!” is that sweet?
    I need to remember I can love Jesus that much because He loves me even more than Mr. Z did 🙂 (I think!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Guilty! lol I’m a big fan of the rusty orange. My pickup truck would be that color if Hubby and finances would allow. giggle Another big favorite is French Racing Blue with white accents.
      It is a relief that works (which include water baptism, speaking in tongues, drinking poison, prophesying etc.) is NO LONGER REQUIRED as a sign of salvation. Plus, we’re not Kingdom Age Jews being prepared for the priesthood, as they where. That program has been removed. I’ve been trying to explain it to many listeners but I guess I’m not good at conveying the Grace Message.
      Gosh, what a precious memory. It just breaks my heart that Mr. Z is no longer with you, but it gladdens me that he is in Heaven. We’ve all lost so many cherished loved ones. “Our loss is Heaven’s gain”. I’m thankful that God loves us so much, that He cares about our woes no matter how great or small.
      “Jesus loves me, this I know … for the Bible tells me so …”
      Have a blessed day everyone! Keep looking to the clouds.

      Like

      1. and I wrote ‘he died earlier than scheduled’ and it might have sounded odd…he was given two years is what I meant, and he died almost immediately…. and yes, I have a fabulously spry and bright woman friend who’ll be 98 in October but suddenly looks like she won’t make it….I wrote to the Bible study gals “When God takes Nancy, I’ll be so envious of God!” She will certainly be heaven’s gain 🙂 have a blessed day!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.