Would You Pay To See The Movie Of Your Life?

tip top tuesday tidbits

On the very last panel of the September 2016 Cycle World magazine, is a well done advert for the Indian Scout Thunder Black Smoke that asks, “Would you pay to see the movie of your life?”

Now that’s a question isn’t it?! Would you? At first I thought “Good grief no, I’m too boring”. But then I started thinking back on some past adventures in this my brief 60 years. There’s quite a list. Let’s see, I have SCUBA dived all over Florida in some really not very safe conditions, swam with Shark and Barracuda (not by choice) and Manatees (by choice). Had a blast traveling throughout the good ‘ol U. S. of A. on a shoestring. Worked for a temporary accounting service all over Jacksonville when the world was young and made friends with loads of people infinitely more interesting than me. Owned a Bass boat that saw a lot of water time. When in season, one could find me hunting deer or small game nearly every weekend. I’ve survived losing my Mother, Grandfather and Uncle at 10, an abusive, uncaring father, drove the Million Dollar Highway in Colorado between Silverton and Ouray in a junky American rental car that I irreverently dubbed The Butt Pucker Highway, one tornado, many hurricanes, more surgeries than I can count, and several lousy Presidents. Even once rode the Tail of the Dragon on the new V-Strom (my Guardian Angel declared “that was enough!”). I’ve had the privilege to own a ‘sleeper’ muscle car, and numerous motorcycles. I’ve even met famous actors in the 1970s when our High School choir was invited to sing at Disney World for Christmas.

After all that, needless to say, I don’t have a shy bone in my body. *grin*

So, yeah, I guess I would pay to see a movie about my life, but only if I was allowed to edit out the cursing and some other events. *cough* Must be careful of the ratings, you know. Without divulging too much, let’s just leave it at I was a bit of a feral child before giving my heart to Christ. It’s amazing how if we allow Him, He can clean up all those dark corners. *wink*

He sent His Word and healed them and delivered them from all their destructions. [Psalm 107:20]

I would love to hear about all the adventure’s my readers have had. And don’t leave out the juicy details! Thank you for not falling asleep. *lol* 

Siggy MC Ride Safe 1

21 thoughts on “Would You Pay To See The Movie Of Your Life?

  1. I, like you, think I have led an interesting life. I’ve often thought of writing about it.
    But some of it I find really shameful.
    The really interesting parts involve behavior that wasn’t Christ-like and would only serve as an example of how not to behave.
    Drugs, motorcycles, fast cars, International Adventure, adultery, and a person lost trying to find meaning in his life.
    The stuff I find most meaningful in my life, being a husband and a father and a leader in my church, and to some degree my community, would seem pretty boring.
    But at least I would be played by De Niro.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. International adventure? Dish, Ed, dish! lol Seriously, though, I know what you mean. Hope I didn’t sound egotistical. I know I’m a skuz and most of my life would be better not on screen. Didn’t give any consideration as to who would play my part … hmmm … maybe I know, Teri Garr. She’s silly like me. Yeah, that’ll work.

      Like

  2. BOOM! There is the stupid comment box (NOT directed at you, guys!)…gee, sometimes it shows up and sometimes it don’t. Sorry…now I can’t remember what I was going to say…sigh….

    Good grief…probably would be Baby Jane or late the great Bette Davis to play me, LOLOLOL…all kidding aside, Sparky…you have come a long ways…you are married to a wonderful man who loves you unconditionally. (that’ll be $1 Steve, thank you very much, giggling and teasing–yes, yes, yes, I am that cheap. lololololol)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re not Bette Davis, you have much better character than that. I think you’re more the Holly Hunter type. tee hee She’s one of my favorite screen personalities.
      I agree, Hubby ‘saved’ me too. He’s a treasure. Guess you saw where Hubby said the check’s in the mail? giggle
      Luv to you and The Boys. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Million Dollar highway was about as much excitement that I could stand in the day. Big a** rv trying to make those curves, and boy howdy don’t look down. Follow the yellow line. Think about the yellow line, forget everything else. LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s it!! You drove an RV on it!? Yipes. Glad you survived. Lordy that’s a scary road. Being flat landers from Florida we thought, “Oh, look, a nice shortcut to (whatever town we where heading for).” NOT!!! I’d rather have gone around it to get to the town. I really overworked my guardian angel that day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so glad we’ve shared most of these adventures. I can remember special events, like the time we made a cave dive at Blue Spring and my regulator malfunctioned, chasing Wood Ducks while canoeing the Chipola River on a bitter cold February day and spearfishing off Big Pine Key. I recall with a smile our ride home from South Carolina in the midst of a tropical storm and over 300 miles of rain, no rain gear and the looks we got when we stopped for lunch and we left pools of water as we walked to a table. I loved seeing the excitement on your face when you bagged your first Wild Turkey the day before Thanksgiving, that bird gracing our table the following day. God has been so good to us.
    Note to Linda, check’s in the mail.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. @wiregrassga ~ I’m thankful we’ve shared most of these adventures too. We have lots of lovely memories together. When are you going to start penning your own wonderful thoughts on your blog? I look forward to that.
      Luv ya ~:)

      Like

  5. What a great topic! Thought provoking to say the least. The truth is, we WILL get to see a movie of our life when we meet our Maker but on this side of heaven I think it would be both great and alarming! LOL! To revisit the places you had gratefully put to rest could be agonizing and make you squirm in your chair looking for a place to bury your head while other places could send your heart reeling and fill you with sensations not to be compared…Hmmmmm…. Can I have a Fast-Forward button for my movie, and perhaps a pause button? Lets not forget the MUTE button! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Terri. I’ll bet yours is interesting. Just the big move from up north to here would be pretty exciting to me! Takes guts to change cultures. I’m too much of a homebody stick-in-the-mud to go too far. giggle
      Hope your day is blessed. ~:)

      Like

  6. I have mixed emotions about seeing a movie of my life. There are many many happy times, fun times, but the dark times wouldnt be worth typing about. Suffice it to say, I enjoyed reading about your life to date….more to come I am sure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Happy times make good movies too. Thankfully, my life is mostly happy now with an occasional stick thrown through my wheels for good measure.
      Hope you and Jesse are having a good time.
      Have a blessed evening! Luv ~:)

      Like

  7. Oh wow, you are so adventurous! I enjoyed reading your adventures and also, Steve’s. You two were made for one another. Not sure I would want to see my life in a movie. Wishing you two a good evening.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.