A Georgia Cheeseburger But Not In Paradise

Ever since the storm Hermaine, it seems we’ve been playing Pick Up Sticks all over the property. The weather is good, the dogs aren’t sick, nothing needs fixing (at the moment), therefore, we decided it was time for a little break. Hopped in the ‘new’ Mazda3 iSport and traveled 3 hours south to the ancient city of Saint Augustine. Lunched at an older than me restaurant called Conch House. The food was h.e.a.v.e.n.l.y! Mine was the Conch House Cuban and Hubby had the Frickle Burger, both with homemade Potato Chips and a Kosher Dill. Yum Yum!

I have a long time internet friend (yeah, I know, I have a friend? … *lol*), an elderly friend, who is living on a large sailboat with her daughter and son-in-law. They are currently somewhere down in Mexico, I forget were. I’m going to ask that when they get to our coast to meet us at the Conch House Marina. I think they’d be pleased with the slips, the food, and the surroundings. Just don’t get out and drive anywhere because the traffic is atrocious! Who are all these people and why aren’t they at a job somewhere!

Here’s a few more pics of the day:

Did you notice the posts carved into faces? I want some of those! Our neighbors probably already think I’m weird, might as well go all the way with it. Oh, and on the return trip we also stopped at the Dairy Queen in Folkston to have a ice cream cone. Well, I had to have something to steady my nerves for the rest of the ride home. (That’s my story, and I’m stickin’ to it.)  😉

It was fun and all but I’m glad to be back home to our quiet little neck of the woods. I’m so tired from all the traffic. Florida has lost all it’s appeal for me. Henceforth, I’m officially a Georgian through-and-through. Those sticks I haven’t picked up yet are looking real good right now.

Siggy MC Ride Safe 1

14 thoughts on “A Georgia Cheeseburger But Not In Paradise

  1. I bet the car is very comfortable to drive/ride in. Your food looks delicious. John would love the Cuban. I had to drive to Atlanta (dr.) yesterday and I was so glad to get back to our quiet little city. The traffic just grates on my nerves. You two take care and I hope the weekend is pleasant.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The car is a gem. I’m very pleased. It’s not as quiet from road noise as the Honda Accord was, but it’ll do. I’m amazed at the fuel economy! It rivals our motorcycles. Amazing. Bet you’re thankful to have that Doctor’s appt. behind you for awhile. Hope all is well and y’all have a great weekend. Luv ~:)

      Like

  2. We really enjoy St. Augustine, but I agree with you about the horrid traffic! You two need to hop on that bike and hit the back roads down to Lakeland. You’ll change your mind about Florida if you let me show you are lovely town….wait until October though, when the weather is usually beautiful. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. STEVE!!! (giggling) always a pleasure to see you both. I agree, I/we have no plans to return to FLA. –now, if I hit the lottery and can afford one of those beach houses or an apartment, ok. lolol

      I hear you about the traffic…since the college kids are back in and regular school—traffic has picked…nothing like Rochester or Buffalo though, thank goodness. ANYWAYS…WHOSE READY FOR COOLER WEATHER???? MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE…lolol. So hot and humid here in western NY…never been this humid for so long, or it seems. And I am so tired of wearing a ball cap—this darn humidness—lol. Flat hair…never mind.lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My hair frizzes in the humidity. I think it must be cooler here (67* last night) and dryer than what y’all are experiencing this week. Hang on, it’ll happen soon! I am so ready for Fall too. Luv ~:)

        Liked by 1 person

    2. True, the “middle” part of Florida is much more desirable. I enjoy the cattle country part of the State, and also the Panhandle is much nicer. As I recall Lakeland can have horrific traffic too though.
      Hope y’all are having a lovely day and the weekend is full of fun for ya!

      Like

  3. Love, love, loved your pictures and have always enjoyed St. A. I agree with you about the traffic as well….you cant go anywhere any more without sitting in traffic or for me, the fear of getting run over by big trucks. Home is where my heart is as well. Thanks for sharing your little ‘get away’ and hope you have a quiet weekend at your special place!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Put me down in the sub-tropical region of Florida. Along the coast about 125 miles south of Tampa. See, I never figured I would be here this time of year. But life takes its turn and here I am for the duration.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.