Dis ‘N Dat

tip top tuesday tidbits

It took a lot of convincing, and even though we are actually Grace Believers, Hubby and I finally decided to join with the First Baptist Church that we have been attending since last Christmas. I know, many of you saw this coming. Well, I just can’t let such loving people and the fact that I’m growing in Christ possibly slip through my fingers because of a couple of doctrinal differences. It’s important to them that we go through this man made ritual, therefore, we will oblige. Christ knows our hearts and knows that we put absolute faith in His shed blood to save us. Besides, our Church family have become very dear to me. They are truly my family in Christ now. Sunday, we went forward and proclaimed ourselves before all. You know me, I had to make a joke of the whole thing. When I shook Pastor’s hand I mumbled, “Well, there went the neighborhood …” And he laughed. Such a fine gentleman. Hope he can put up with me. Anyway, October 23rd will be the immersion. I’m threatening to show up with my SCUBA gear on. Nah … better let that one go. *wink*

Hubby is in Jacksonville today getting new tires installed on the pick up truck. The original tires went 100,000 miles! Isn’t that phenomenal!? When I was a tot, tires would only last a few thousand, if you were lucky. I remember it was a common sight to see people on the side of the road changing tires. Thankfully, that’s almost a bygone era now. The spark plugs also went about that long. Amazing. Those also were replaced a few miles ago that are supposed to last even longer. It’s pricey but well worth it to have reliable transportation. It’s especially essential living way out in the country like we do.

I have my 6 month checkup at the Doctor’s today. They’ve become so efficient with their fancy new offices that I’m usually in and out in a jiffy. Hey, as long as I get my life-sustaining drugs I’m happy. (Well, that’s what they are. Drugs mandated by the government after numerous bribes to officials that are ‘safe’. Ok, I’ll let that one go too …)

Tomorrow evening is Family Night Supper at the Church, then Bible Study. Hubby sometimes attends, I usually stay home. Guess I’m too much of a homebody. 

Thursday a teeth cleaning appointment. Not fun, but easy. Afterwards my teeth always feel so nice I hate to eat anything. Are you like that? Wish the feeling would stay so I could lose several pounds. No such luck.

It’s been overcast day after day after day in SE Georgia, but absolutely no rain. It’s becoming scary with how dry it’s gotten. Please pray for rain for us? Thank you my friends.

So, that’s our week. Hope your’s is cheaper than ours and uneventful.

siggy-mc-ride-safe-1

12 thoughts on “Dis ‘N Dat

  1. I know what you mean about the teeth getting cleaned! I keep running my tongue over them on the way back to work or home (I usually try to go late so I can just go home). Feels good!

    Joe and I have been missing church more than we go lately. We have some issues that we can’t seem to resolve right now. I was baptised Presbyterian, raised Methodist and converted to Catholicism when Joe and I got serious. I’ve always believed what matters is how you live your life, where your heart is and that you believe…not so much which doors you enter (or not) on Sunday. My grandma was American Baptist. She was always careful to say that so she wouldn’t be confused with Southern Baptist. I’m still not sure I know the difference nor do I really care. I’m happy for you that you have found a faith family to worship with!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with that statement. And thank you for the joyful thoughts. I’m happy that you found your place too. I think this First Baptist Church is technically Southern Baptist but they don’t act it, if that makes sense. They don’t put emphasis on Baptism (it’s just required by the Higher Up’s for voting, serving, etc.) and they don’t rag on me for having an adult beverage. AND, most importantly, many of these folks ‘ride’. OH YEAH! giggle Anyway, it’s Christ who has my heart and the attendees at this particular location. Honestly, I couldn’t go through this with any other place.
      Hope your day is blessed. ~:)

      Like

  2. LOL…we shall not have that discussion about Southern Baptist and American…really folks…ugh (giggling)—I am different from a lot of folks and doctrine, I was raised Catholic and became a Southern Baptist before our son was born. I believe, if you (as in general) believe in Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, you are saved and who am I to say different? We all will be judged on that day, everyone of us. No escaping it. ANYWAYS—where was I???? not making any sense, really, lol.
    I am so happy for you, Sparky…we have not found a church up here yet, too liberal thinking for me…just saying…I have lots of issues that remain unresolved and the good Lord and I have doosies of conversations…the most important being that I know where I am going and certainty is not Hell. just saying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I forgot there where different ‘types’ of Baptist, not being raised in it nor truly interested in their doctrines at all. I just believe in Jesus Christ and trust in His righteousness to save me. It’s His blood that saves and this Church agrees, so we’re cool with each other. And I agree with what you said. I wish y’all could find a Church ‘home’ because it’s nice to have so many like-minded friends.
      I’m real excited for you going to Mansfield. I’ll bet it’s a lot more laid back then your current school.
      Proud of you! Luv ~:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, agree about the church. It’s just to liberal &they look funny at you if you don’t tithe.
        The ppl are really nice at Mansfield, just can’t believe I will be attending a school like that.

        Like

  3. So very happy that you have found a church home full of thoughtful, loving brothers and sisters in Christ. Don’t you just love physicals, dental cleanings, buying prescriptions, etc? It never ends, does it?? lol Cloudy and breezy here today but no rain. John’s MRI is tomorrow a.m.
    Wishing you a very nice evening. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the happy thoughts. I’ve really become attached to these folks. They seem to feel the same way about me. (Poor things … *lolI)
      So, it’s a medical kinda week for y’all too? Gosh, I know, it never ends! Just when I think I can save a little money for an emergency, the finances say “Nuh huh”. Oh well, at least we’re holding on.
      Same here, cloudy, breezy, no rain. I don’t think the storm will bring us any rain. It’s so depressing.
      Luv ya ~:)

      Like

  4. I have no idea what ya’ll are talking about. I have been non-denominational all my life. Closest l got was base chapel in the Navy. Never knew what denomination was at the pulpit and from what I understand now they can’t mention the name of Jesus. Rediculous! Btw, I think a mask and a snorkel would suffice! 😉 Barney

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know …. all these sects is silly.
      You know me, I can’t turn down a chance to be a clown in front of a crowd. I’m like a moth to the flame … LOL

      Like

      1. Sound like a bunch of good folk and they ride too! My church has deep Mennonite roots. We were planted by the Virginia Mennonite Conference but eventually left their covering because we weren’t pacifist, too many military and cops. We finally affiliated with a group of churches that left for the same reason. And we lost people for that!? Go figure? But I love my church family and especially my band of brothers who are praying for me and with me through this struggle. And there are my WP sisters! I am blessed! 🙏❤️😊 Barn

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am so so very happy you joined your church. You have been happy since attending, and why not be a member of the ‘family’ as well. That is the way I feel toward mine….we are the family of God and each other. Baptism doesnt save anyone, it is just an outward symbol of what our Lord did to show we die to self and are raised to new life in Christ. Wish I could be there….makes my heart happy.
    Tires, ugh…but those lasted longer than usual for sure. Sending you a big hug and much love.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.