Florida Hunkers Down

hurricane-matthew

It’s still a Cat 4, isn’t it? It doesn’t seem there’s much for our area to be concerned about. As of this writing, it appears that the eye of Hurricane Matthew will hit around Fort Pierce, Florida, or so, about 320 miles south of us. (I live near the “2 AM Saturday” mark but 50 miles inland.) The storm will probably weaken after making landfall again as it hobbles north towards us. We’ll probably get a bit of wind, maybe some much needed moisture from the rain bands. I do hope that it will rain in our parts. We are so terribly dry this month.

Let’s see, not much preparation needed by us really. Local schools are cancelled tomorrow, that’s a given. God be praised for we have food in the Lauder, gasoline, propane, and the All-House Generator. If we lose power the only thing it will affect is the land-line accessibility which affects the internet service because our sorry local telephone company won’t replace the Power Shelf in the DLC cabinet … Yeah, I’ve already ragged on them about that. *grin* But it really is unconscionable that ATC would allow us to be without phones especially with the exorbitant extortion style rates they charge …. *grumble*

Now you know one reason I’m called Sparky! It’s not just the fact I was a volunteer firefighter for awhile. *wink*

I hope everyone else along the eastern coast is ready. Prayers for those that are about to get slammed. May the LORD God lift you up and keep you safe.

Sparky plain black

17 thoughts on “Florida Hunkers Down

    1. Rain is certainly needed. The wind will probably clean out the dead wood. I love’s ma trees but they can create a lot of extra work. Luv ~:)

      Like

    1. I know what he means having grown up with all the storms and false alarms. After awhile, one becomes complacent. I do hope they take all caution, though, this one could be deadly.
      Thank you for the prayers. And hope you have an enjoyable day at school! Luv ~:)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. On my way down to Florida, Brunswick got hit and I was stuck in Florence SC for two days. Hope they manage ok this time. Love my La Quinta and of course Cracker Barrel. Hope you manage ok. Looks like we may get some nasty gusts here on the West Coast, so hang on, we are in for a bumpy ride. Prayers go out to all.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Cracker Barrel … don’t get me started there. I could spend all of your paycheck there (like, I’ll spend all of mine?!) roflol Looks like our area is for it again. That’s OK. I’m one of those weird ones that actually enjoy storms. We need the rain badly, and the wind cleans the trees of deadwood. Wish we could leash that analogy on the White House and Congress … nudge cough Thank you for the prayers. ~:)

      Like

    1. Y’all too! Thank you.
      We’re cooking up a bunch of meals right now in case the power goes out. Two of the things that we couldn’t hook up to the All House Generator was the stove/oven and the hot water heater. At least the microwave still works! Hey, I know my priorities. lol
      Blessings ~:)

      Like

  2. my poor friend Hillary and her husband are being told they could lose their house on Atlantic Beach….he’s on business in Vermont, she’s here in L.A.! She’s lost both her folks so all the family memorabilia (and her grandfather was gov of OK or something, so there’s lots of interesting stuff) may be lost but the last text I got from her sounded like she’d found someone to at least take things out…no time to board things up. Please pray for EVERYONE but keep Hillary and Davis in your prayers on the top of the list!
    So glad you’re safe, Sparks!

    XX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Z. Oh dear, how awful for your friends! Well, at least they are safe but I do understand the attachment to our stuff.I’m the same way. Folding them in prayer for sure. As I write this, the storm is intensifying. Steve has decided to not travel to Tennessee to see his mother after all. It’s just too dangerous. Luv to all there ~:)

      Like

Comments are closed.