Victoria TV Series

Has anyone else been watching the Victoria series on PBS? Each episode plays every Sunday evening at 9 PM (EST). I think it’s two seasons long. The synopsis from their website:

The early life of Queen Victoria, from her ascension to the throne at the tender age of 18 to her courtship and marriage to Prince Albert.

Actor’s Jenna Coleman, Rufus Sewell, and many others in the star studded cast are doing a good job of entertaining. I don’t know how factual these stories are about Victoria since my main area of interest is medieval England and French history, especially the Tudor dynasty (1485-1603). My bookshelves are laden with book after book on this subject. According to on-line sources,  Queen Victoria ruled from 20 June 1837 to 22 January 1901 (over 63 years). That means that until the current day Queen Elizabeth II, Queen Victoria was the longest ruling monarch of the United Kingdom.

After watching just two episodes of Victoria, I’m ready to rectify my woeful lack of knowledge concerning this monarch and era in English history. So, last night I ordered two used paper backs from Amazon:

queen-victoria

Queen Victoria: A Personal History by Christopher Hibbert,

victorias-daughters

and Victoria’s Daughters by Jerrold M. Packard. (This last book was only one penny plus shipping. Now that’s a bargain.) Not being familiar with any of these authors, I’m venturing into unrecognized territory. Should be interesting!

cardinal-flag-sparky-160x160

7 thoughts on “Victoria TV Series

  1. {{{giggling}}} you could of just asked me, LOLOLOL….Hey, I was going to watch, but, honestly, with school starting back, I felt I ought not get started with it (as I am usually in bed by 8:30 on school nights).

    Have a great day friend….still snowing here, wink.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Set the recorder. It’s worth a look, if there’s time, since you appreciate history too.
      Any more snow and I’m gonna have to send out the National Guard for y’all! giggle It’s sunny, breezy, and cool down this way. Beautiful weather. ducking 🙂 We’re gonna ride to the Church this afternoon. Steve is part of the CMJC (Christian Men’s Job Corp) this semester. He’s really enjoying helping others.
      Luv ~:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joe and I are watching it and love it!! Knowing nothing about Victoria, I went online to learn more about her after the first episode. Very interesting. The costuming is wonderful. Masterpiece rarely does it wrong. We are also enjoying Mercy Street, back for a second season. Good stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did that too! Now I want to read about her as well. I know directors have to take poetic license when making a movie, but I wanna see how accurate the story is. I didn’t know that Victoria was prone to so much emotional stress and outbursts. This makes me especially thankful to have not been born into the Royal family. I like my quiet country life. Blessings! ~:)

      Like

Comments are closed.