A Prayer Request

cardinal-and-verse

I’m in need of prayer this morning please. Not trying to be mysterious but it’s an unspoken request and deals with something in my past that is trying to change me back into what I once was. I just don’t want to ‘go there’ anymore. It’s such a well-worn path that needs to be allowed to grow up in weeds so I’ll never go there again. I think I’ve ‘prayed it through’ but request the Saints that read this passage to please whisper a prayer for my spiritual strength? Thank you so much.

And Thursday devotional in the “Open Windows” by LifeWay pamphlet really spoke to me. Thought I’d share it. [Translation below]

the-pathway-to-wisdom

The Pathway of Wisdom
Devotional Passage: Proverbs 3:13-26
Read the Bible Through: Exodus 12-13, Matthew 15:1-20

Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace. Proverbs 3:17

When you choose to travel down the pathway of wisdom instead of taking other routes, life just seems to go more smoothly and you save yourself a lot of headaches and heartaches. This way is described as pleasant and peaceful. It’s like walking along a smooth pathway winding through beautiful trees with a cool, quiet stream running next to it. We can stroll along its beauty with our mind totally at ease.

But it stands to reason that when we choose any route instead of the way of wisdom – whether it is the result of selfish desires or simply as the quickest way to get ourselves out of a fix – the path will be rocky and filled with potholes, with probably some uncomfortable detours as well. It will not be a pleasant journey.

The good thing is that we get to choose our own pathway. We can take the time to choose wisely, or we can base our decisions on greed, selfishness, and without forethought and prayer. But walking in wisdom will always be the best way to travel, no matter where we are going.

Father, help me to seek Your wisdom over my own desires.

I love and appreciate you all very much. Also, please know I try to always bring all my blogging buddies to the Throne of Grace daily too. May the LORD bless and keep you.

snowman-siggy-sparky

16 thoughts on “A Prayer Request

  1. Before I responded, I stopped to pray and will continue until you tell me otherwise. You KNOW I believe in the power of prayer. As the ‘Open Windows’ devotion said, we must seek his wisdom. Hugs to you this morning dear one.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I felt those prayers! Like I told Ms. Z below, I prayed in the shower (I know .. T.M.I.) and Jesus mercifully touched my heart and showed me what the problem was. Now I understand and can deal with this old sin nature appropriately. It’s me, of course, not the other person that’s the problem. Thank you my friend. And THANK YOU JESUS for helping me to release myself from this sin nature. I’m gonna do what HE ways and not what I ‘feel’. Amen. Thanks again. I appreciate y’all so much. God bless my friend. xxxxx
      (PS: You know what’s really making a difference in my life? It’s going to these Wednesday night Bible Studies with other lady’s. These lessons are finally startin’ to kick in. Praise Jesus.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a perfect devotional for what you describe you’re going through … and wisdom for US, too…all of us. I will pray, Sparky, you can count on that. Hold your hubby’s hand; it’s what I miss the most having lost my dear one…..’connect’ that way, your cornerstone and confidante….hold on hard. Just a feeling I had as I was typing this…
    God bless you, Sparky….and thank you for YOUR prayers. xxx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I DID HOLD HIS HAND!! (Sorry, didn’t mean to shout. I was excited because of the answer I received a bit ago.) That helped. Oh my goodness, Z it grieves me that you don’t have Mr. Z anymore. You’re such a fine person, really, I don’t know why some fellow hasn’t come along and ask for your hand in marriage. Prayers from me too. Anyway, I prayed in the shower (I know .. T.M.I.) and Jesus mercifully touched my heart and showed me what the problem was. Now I understand and can deal with this sin nature appropriately. Thank you my friend. And THANK YOU JESUS for helping me to release myself from this sin nature. I’m gonna do what HE ways and not what I ‘feel’. Amen. Thanks again. God bless. xxxxx

      Like

      1. Sparky, I JUST KNEW you HAD to hold hubby’s hand and you’d feel better. I just KNEW It. I am so thrilled I feel weepy that this helped at all!
        About shower prayers: Mr. Z used to come out of the shower and say “My gosh, my showers are getting longer and longer as more and more of our friends and family need prayer!” I guess praying in the shower is pretty normal! HA!!!

        SO GLAD you heard from Jesus and feel so much better!

        Re my being married again…a friend recently said “In SEVEN YEARS you’ve not met a man you like?” I said “in seven years I haven’t even MET A MAN to NOT like….I haven’t met an eligible man!” 🙂 They’re married, too young, too short, too liberal, or too gay!” ARGH! It’s only lately, after these 7 years, that I’d even consider marrying again. Now, I think I’d like to.
        God bless you, sweet girl xxxx

        Ed’s remark below cracked me up! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        1. What a boring life this would be without any of y’all in my life. ❤
          You’re the one that cracks me up! Not that your being single is funny (it’s not) but love your sense of humor and proportion. Move to Georgia. We have more Real Men in this part of the world. wink
          Ed always tickles my funny bone too. giggle
          Thank you again for the prayers and concern. I feel so lighthearted now!
          Luv & Prayers ~:)

          Like

Comments are closed.